OFAC sanctioned Lieutenant General Moe Myint Tun and General Maung Maung Kyaw, two Burmese military officers and members of Burma's State Administration Council, pursuant to Executive Order ("EO") 14014 ("Blocking Property with Respect to the Situation in Burma"). The officers were sanctioned for their connection to the military apparatus responsible for the February 1, 2021 coup in Burma.

As previously covered, President Joseph R. Biden signed EO 14014 on February 11, 2021 authorizing sanctions against those responsible for the overthrow of the democratically elected civilian government of Burma by military authorities. OFAC designated the two individuals, who are members of the State Administration Council, for being current or former leaders of Burma's security forces.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.