On October 14, 2020, the Government of Canada added an additional 31 names to the list of sanctioned individuals under the Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Regulations (Belarus Regulations) made under the Special Economic Measures Act. These 31 individuals are officials of the Government of Belarus. Their addition to the schedule of listed persons in the Belarus Regulations follows Canada's initial imposition of sanctions against 11 Belarusian government officials on September 29, 2020, in connection with Belarusian presidential elections and subsequent public protests.

For more information on Canadian sanctions against Belarus, including prohibitions and obligations applicable to persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada, see our October 2020 Blakes Bulletin: New Canadian Sanctions Against Belarus.

For permission to reprint articles, please contact the Blakes Marketing Department.

© 2020 Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.